Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does the use of z-push request an ActiveSync license by Microsoft?

Does the use of z-push request an ActiveSync license by Microsoft?

Hi,

I am not a tec expert but a project manager doing some general research into contact management software.

A small company of friends would like to start an address management tool for hobby sport clubs. And they look into different ways to sync the addresses of the team into all the team members mobile address books.

Now we came across z-push. But we can't figure out if we need a license for ActiveSync by Microsoft on top of z-push on our (server) side. Or does z-push work if ActiveSync only runs on the mobile devices?

Thanks for help!
    David

Z-push doesn't require an activesync license as it's Zarafas own technology. You can use it on as many devices as you want, I'm not aware that MS ActiveSync on exchange required a license anyway, I thought you only needed an exchange CAL?
    IT Engineer,
    ClearOS 5.2, Zarafa 7.1.x
    ClearOS 6.5, Zarafa 7.1.10-7.2.x

Hi David,

only MS can respond for sure if you need to pay for the ActiveSync license.

Z-Push itself is an open source project under the GNU Affero General Public License version 3.

Quote Originally Posted by David_Hamburg View Post
    Hi,
    Or does z-push work if ActiveSync only runs on the mobile devices?
    Sorry, I didn't understand your question. What do you mean? ActiveSync is a protocol, mobile devices' apps use it to communicate with an ActiveSync capable server.

Manfred
    Please do not PM me asking for support. Use the forum instead. Thank you.
    I usually check the mobility thread at the end of the day, so please have some patience if there's no immediate response. Asking to look at certain thread per PM won't result in a faster answer.

Hi Manfred,
    Hi Chomes,

thanks a lot for your answers!